Traumatic Brain Injury

*You must be registered for the ANA2021 Virtual Annual Meeting to access the live SIG Series sessions.

Date/Time ET:  Wednesday, December 1, 2021 - 11:30 AM  – 1:00 PM

Session Title: Small Injuries with Big Impacts: Micro-structural Injury in Traumatic Brain Injury

Description: This session will focus on micro-structural injury after traumatic brain injury (TBI). Not all injuries after TBI can be readily seen on conventional imaging techniques, prompting investigators to develop novel methods of injury detection from biomarkers to advanced imaging sequences. Topics will include micro-structural injury after concussion and disruption to the neurovascular unit after more severe trauma. Experts in the field will discuss emerging science, alongside the latest work from junior investigators.

Chair: Geoffrey Ling, MD, PhD, FAAN, FANA, Johns Hopkins University

Co-Chair: Holly Hinson, MD, MCR, Oregon Health & Science University


  • Describe micro-structural injury after TBI and ways to detect it
  • Differentiate which tools are ready for the clinic versus those that are research tools after TBI


Micro-structural Injury: Concussion


Christopher Giza, MD

University of California, Los Angeles

Associations of Pre-injury Vascular Risk Factors with Traumatic Brain Injury Outcomes: A TRACK-TBI Study

Oral Presenter:

Andrea Schneider, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania

Micro-structural Injury: Severe TBI


Danielle Sandsmark, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania

Resilience of Arousal Mechanisms in Traumatic Coma

Oral Presenter:

Marta Bianciardi, PhD

Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital

Continuing Medical Education

The American Neurological Association hosts a wide range of educational programs. These programs seek to enhance the development and success of those pursuing a career in academic neurology at all levels. There are educational offerings to benefit those at the beginning stages of their careers, including students and those in their first faculty position, as well as those looking for best practices in Chair level positions. These programs seek to enhance attendee success in the field of academic neurology and to contribute to the overall education of neurologists and neuroscientists.

The Special Interest Groups offer CME to eligible participants. Click here to see a complete breakdown of how many credits are available per session.

ACCME Accreditation, AMA Designation, and MIPS Statements **Pertaining to Each Session Awarding CME**

The American Neurological Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American Neurological Association designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Completion of this accredited CME activity meets the expectations of an Accredited Safety or Quality Improvement Program (IA_PSPA_28) for the Merit-based Incentive Payment Program (MIPS).


Instructions For Obtaining CME

Following the event, the evaluation and credit claiming system will open in OnDEC. Please complete the online evaluation by 12/31/2021 to obtain CME credit. You will be provided with a certificate after completing the evaluation. If you have any questions, please contact the ANA Meeting Coordinator at:

Click here to see a complete breakdown of how many credits are available per session.

Financial Disclosure Statements

The planners and faculty for this activity do not have any relationships to disclose unless listed here. Any relevant relationships with ACCME-defined ineligible companies will be mitigated according to ACCME Standards prior to the start of the activity.

Disclosure of Commercial Support

ANA received educational grants from the following ACCME-defined ineligible companies to support the CME aspects of this event: Added as confirmed.

DISCLAIMER: The ANA does not endorse or affiliate with third-party companies, products or services including those that may have elected to support the Special Interest Groups.